Training Lessons I have learned (add in yours)

Goldenrod

Staff member
I'm an expert of F all so these observations are from decades of injuries/training/supplements/PED's/etc.

1. Unless you are a genetic freak, you can only get stronger/bigger for so long before your body says F off. Your body needs time to rest and most refer to this as a 'deload phase'.

2. Must test boosters / supplements are shit - the return on investment is not worth it. Want to increase your test, take testosterone. Want protein - eat real food sources and yes I still use a protein powder 4-5 times a week but I would rather eat 6 eggs or a steak any day.

3. Herbs/supplements for BP, lipids, etc. help and are a good start but don't be an idiot and ignore a serous problem self treating it. Go to your doctor for professional advice.

4. You can't make large gains in short periods and expect to keep it. The average person is not built that way. You might look good for 3 months but when you start to shrink when you stop, how is your ego going to feel? Steady gains over an extended period might not make everyone take notice but some day you are going to look at a picture and realize you are bigger and in better shape than everyone around you.

5. Make a yearly plan/goals and focus on consistency. Anyone who has a well rounded diet that supplies the fuel to grow, pushes hard enough for hypertrophy, does cardio (whatever makes you happy) will look better than 90% of the population. Add in a dash of PED's and you will look better than 95% of the population.

6. Learn to listen/read other's opinions with an open mind because they may know something you don't. Information/knowledge is power.

7. When it comes to prioritizing the different aspect of growth - not sure if there is a correct answer but for me - 1. diet, 2. training, 3. proper rest, 4. PED's.