How do you get past a plateau in weight lifting?

If it's a strength plateau, i would deload, and work on explosiveness and endurance then i would add some band or chain and work with that for a while then go and see if i bust the plateau.

Also maybe if it would be for example : deadlift, i would go ligther with the main movement and go heavier with an accessory one that can really improve my main exercice, like heavy glute ham raise for the deadlift or heavy tricep work/lats work for my bench.

I would work on what can cause the stagnation instead of keeping doing the same movement

Maybe i'm wrong i'm no pro but i would try this.

I totally agree with what your saying. Using Westside methods, these guys change their main exercise on max effort days at least every 3 weeks as they hit plateaus with the exercise. So for example if you are doing squats for 3 weeks and you have worked up to from 405 to 425 or whatever ... switch to bent leg good mornings for 2 to 3 weeks and try to get a pr on that, I have been able to work up to 465lbs for 3 reps relatively low, bent leg good mornings with no back rounding … that was a very good day for me but might be very easy for someone else. So after another 2 - 3 weeks I would switch to maybe box squats. Eventually I would come back around and do squats again in about 2 or 3 months and I normally noticed my squat weight that I use to handle feels a lot lighter. Doing different exercises, alternating every 2 -3 weeks, should be done on speed days as well when you are trying to increase your speed strength. So I may do pause benches for 2-3 weeks working up to a pr or close to one and then switch to benching with lower bar weight but higher band tension and work the bar weight up over 2 - 3 weeks to see if my bar speed stays the same. If it slows down over 3 reps I know I have hit my max ( if your not familiar with speed training refer to westside articles).